Any Dawes fans among us?

Steve Edwards

This one was my introduction to the band.  I've since picked up a couple more of their records.  Taylor Goldsmith is the front man; writes all their music, sings and plays (very well IMHO) lead guitar.  I'm not very good at identifying genres, I guess they would come under Pop / Rock, but I find their music cleverly crafted, tastefully played, with very engaging lyrics.  

What spurred me to post this record was how much more I heard of it since the dear Jim Davis helped me tune my Quatros a couple months ago.  The improvement has been as significant as any other component or cable upgrade I have ever made.  We've all experienced that wonderful state when after a major upgrade, you eagerly anticipate pulling out the next record that you haven't played since the change, and feeling those endorphins dancing around our brains while we hear new sounds on oh-so-familiar recordings.    

Play on

IMG_3538.jpg

Do you have AYFB on vinyl?  Bought my first copy at Barnes & Noble when it came out.  It was a rather noisy pressing (non-fill I think) so I took it back for an exchange.  The second one was a little better, but still had some similar noise.  Oddly, when I played side one yesterday, I didn't notice hardly any of the noise.  I do think that sometimes, surface noise will diminish with continued plays.  Maybe that's the case here; not sure.  

Maybe there's hope for your friend  :classic_smile: