I just had my hearing checked today, and it seems I am near the point of needing hearing aids.- Loss of upper frequencies.

Does anyone here listen to music with hearing aids?

Are they unobtrusive to listening enjoyment?

These are probably dumb questions, but I had to ask. 

Bob

No dumb questions here Bob!  I’m in a similar situation.  Had a test some years back. Same diagnosis; loss of high frequencies.  Had it done a few months ago, with the intent of getting hearing aids. One thing to consider, most (if not all) “over the counter” aids are just mini amplifiers.  I’m not an auditory expert, but my understanding is custom made aids also filter out background noise, i.e. in restaurants, which is a significant element of hearing impediment.  

I was thoroughly tested at a Costco hearing center, big dip in the high frequencies.  The tech tuned a pair to my results and had my wife & me go walk around the store.  When we returned, he asked me if it helped. When I told him there was very little improvement, he said “I didn’t think you were a good candidate for hearing aids.”

I’m not providing very helpful info, but I’m under the impression, if you spend big $ (like in the 5K to 8K range), they can be effective.  Not sure about the impact on listening to music.  

I feel like Michael Fremer - “I don’t hear as good as I did in my 30’s, but I’m a much better listener.”

Play on