New Member System - Vandersteen Quatro Wood CT + JBL L300 Summit

Hello, Vandersteen Forum. I just registered as a new member. Glad to be here.

I purchased my first pair of Vandersteen speakers, Model 3A Signature, in my early 20s while in graduate school. Admittedly I lacked financial wisdom at the time and likely should have deferred investment in high-end audio equipment until fully employed. It was a "had to have them" situation that snowballed into subsequent upgrades to amplification, sources, and room treatments, as is often the case with this hobby.  Those speakers served as an escape from mundane reality and a portal to musical thrills. I ran with a crowd of mostly musicians at the time, as I was a performing drummer and percussionist,  and I still recall the looks of surprise, wonderment, and engagement on friends' faces during a first listen to my odd-looking Vandersteen towers. Great memories.

My two-channel audio system continues to be a source of pride and joy. Currently my configuration allows me to relatively painlessly switch between two excellent speakers (Vandersteen Quatro Wood CT and JBL L300 Summit) as well as between tube and solid-state power amplification (Balanced Audio Technology VK-76SE and VK-255SE, respectively). The flexibility is great!

The Vandersteen's sound glorious powered by the BAT VK-76SE tube amplifier (75 watts per channel), but I do not push the volume above moderate listening levels. When powered by the BAT VK-255SE solid-state amplifier, the sound from the Vandersteen's is by comparison a bit less dreamy and dimensional, but I can increase the volume to achieve gripping room pressurization.

The JBL's were manufactured circa 1980 but perform like a very accomplished modern speaker. The unique driver array provides for an exciting listen with loads of body and dynamics.

I see KENTO Carbon's in my future but am in no hurry to disrupt the current state of awesomeness in my listening room.