Question on coupling/decoupling

Im no expert on vibration as it relates to the quality of sound but i find the mechnics of how vibration affects components and speakers interesting . I thought this was lost in the analog era and only applied to turntables but I have seen alot of discussions on other forums regarding coupling components to maple cutting boards and putting ball bearings under subwoofers to effectively make them float or resonant freely. Has anyone tried this or maybe have a better explanation for me? I thought feeling the bass of my sub through my hardwood floor was a good thing but now im thinking that it isnt based on what i am reading. 

Edited by Paul S.
Missing word

I am a pro violinist....everything makes a difference.    with my instrument, if I use different strings, different rosin, different bridge, different shoulder rest, different temperature.....everything makes a difference.   If you put a can of chicken noodle soup under your amp, and change it to tomato juice, there will be a difference....choose the one you like.

4 hours ago, Stringreen said:

I am a pro violinist....everything makes a difference.    with my instrument, if I use different strings, different rosin, different bridge, different shoulder rest, different temperature.....everything makes a difference.   If you put a can of chicken noodle soup under your amp, and change it to tomato juice, there will be a difference....choose the one you like.

Unless things have changed since the 6th grade - Then I can assure you that if I was playing your violin… nothing would make a difference.

• Like 1
  • Haha 3

On 4/8/2022 at 2:30 PM, GdnrBob said:

I am playing with Townshend Platforms and Bars