Ayre AX-5

I know that the AX-5 has a Twenty upgrade. If it is just a non-Twenty, then I wouldn't bother. Looking at HifiShark, AX-5 Twenty's go for $5-5.5 K.

I have no experience with AR, but know they are very good companions with Vandersteen speakers.

My 2 cents:

Both amps are very good, perhaps some sound differences, but nothing significant to warrant a change.

And, I would wait for a nice pair of Mr. V's M5 amps to come up for sale. Probably more money, but worth it in the long run.

B

• Like 1

21 hours ago, dsisssup said:

Just got a line on an AX5.  Some time ago Johnny Mentioned that it might do a better job than my AR ref-110 (tubes).  Can anyone share experience with  the AX5 and the connection of the external filters .  I have the M5 HPB filters.

Jordan

A dear pal of mine has the AX-5 / Twenty Ayre amp powering his Quatro CTs and loves it. His preamp is an Audio Research Reference pre. He has the Vandy crossovers.

So…the Ayre AX-5 is an integrated amp. There is not a “pre-amp out” / “amp in” option so the use of external Vandersteen crossovers is not (really) an option. However, you can send the AX-5 back to Ayre and have the appropriate crossover (basically a set of capacitors) inserted into the circuit. It’s a great option, but Richard (and others) believe a battery-biased crossover is more transparent. I haven’t been able to compare so I’ll trust their claim. I have no complaints (as my AX-5 / Twenty, as well as my previous AX-7e, have an Ayre installed crossover). 

Interesting a dealer would showcase the AX-5 / Twenty using an external pre-amp. I guess you could connect a pre-amp to an AX-5 (using external crossovers) if the input was configure for HT bypass. 

• Like 1

6 hours ago, Patrick D said:

A dear pal of mine has the AX-5 / Twenty Ayre amp powering his Quatro CTs and loves it. His preamp is an Audio Research Reference pre. He has the Vandy crossovers.

OOPS! Sorry...brain fart. He has the VX-5 / Twenty AMP. Not the integrated.