New Home/New Listening Room

My wife and I are building a new home and I will have a dedicated listening room above the garage. Dimension wise (23’x11’), it’s probably not the ideal “golden ratio” for a listening room, but it should be much better than the room (basement) I am currently set up in. One issue I might have to deal with is the clipped (angled) ceiling.

I am trying to figure out the best placement for my Treo CT’s in this new room. 

I will post a few pictures of the room from the new construction drawings.

Also, a picture of my current set up.

Thanks for any advice.

Steve

F264DD7D-79BD-4CE6-AFDD-2714B176CDB1.jpeg

E5B9F8D3-388E-45EE-B8E6-657C53CA577C.jpeg

EC2BB202-EC98-4C8C-80F7-76CAB5687F4F.jpeg

@500Homeruns welcome to the forum! 

As a residential architectural designer, I understand perfectly, nicely posted.

IMO, I think this could be a very nice room, and the ‘clipped’ ceiling may actually help. If it were me, I think I would put them on either side of the window, firing long into the room.  11’ might be a little tight to ‘side’ fire that space. Distance to the window wall will have to be experimented with, but I would follow the guidelines in the manual. I know if it was Johnny Rutan giving advice, he would place them close to the side walls, always 😄 

I would keep the equipment from between the speakers and put them off to the side, perhaps just the power amps on the floor between.  It’s a long room, so my feeling is your sitting area may be 12-15’ from the speakers, but really depends on how the room reacts. 

After finding a good spot to provide a wide and deep depth of soundstage and imaging, then you may improve things with absorption and diffusion panels. 

Should be a fun project nonetheless!

Edited by bkeske
  • Like 1

Thanks for the reply!

That is some great information and I should be able to follow it to a “T”.

One thing I did not mention is that I am seriously considering NOT having that window (or any window) in the room.